Yes I get by with a little help from my friends

17 Nov

It is an interesting concept; a group of women who have nothing in common except the fact that they have had a baby. We’re all different ages, are at different points in our lives and have different interests, yet somehow sitting at the dinner table with those 8 amazing women last night felt so comfortable and so right.

How is it that a group of 9 women are so connected through the fact that we have children the same age? It’s pretty simple, it’s because we need each other. For some of us it’s the companionship and advice. For others it’s because we don’t have other friends with children the same age as ours, or friends who live locally. It could also be the desire for our children to have friends their own age before they head to daycare, pre-school and school. Whatever it is, it works, and we have become friends who probably share more with each other than we do with our nearest and dearest.

How do mothers who don’t gel with their mothers group function without such a varied sounding board? I know that some mum’s don’t have a good outcome from their mothers group, and I feel so blessed that ours has turned out as well as it has.

Asher, I hope that at the time of reading this, your list of friends will still include Zach, Grace, Gabrielle, Sienna, Ayla, Claire, Peter and Matilda, and that I will still be enjoying Thai food and white wine with their mothers.

Do most mothers have positive experiences with their mothers groups? Or are we just exceptionally lucky?

One Response to “Yes I get by with a little help from my friends”

  1. Sara @ Tis The Life November 22, 2011 at 3:51 am #

    I am lucky that I have a fantastic mothers group too. I moved about 550 km away from my support network of friends about 3 weeks after Worm was born, so I knew nobody in this town.
    I was VERY lucky that a new mothers group was being established as I arrived & I made it to the first meeting. I have made some fantastic friendships out of it, and like you would probably not have had anything in common with these women, apart from the babies.
    I have just found your blog – but I am looking forward to reading more 🙂

Leave a Reply

